HEROINE ADDICT

Standard

I think I finally have a grip on what to write a zine about. Eight women who inspire me? I don’t know why I picked eight – it’s just seemed like the right number. So far, I have been thinking;

Vivienne Westwood

A seventy-year old royal, both punk and real – she’s a Dame, who once greeted the Queen wearing no knickers, came from a working-class background to influence English counter-culture and make Brittania cool. She also has a remarkably similar horoscope to me: Sun and Venus in Aries, Mercury in Pisces, and Mars in Aquarius! Tres bizarre. Her Saggitarius rising makes sense, as she is definetly a philosopher and something of a diletantte – being a fashion designer and simultaneously dismissing consumerism; “I don’t feel comfortable defending my clothes. But if you’ve got the money to afford them, then buy something from me. Just don’t buy too much.” Her moon in Leo makes sense too – even from her punk days, right through to the Victorian Empire-vibe corsetry and crowns motifs. But most of all I admire her for staying true to her vision of glamour and totally disgregarding the mainstream paradigms of what an older woman should look like. God save Vivienne!

Leave a Reply

